HairCut Reviews For Sport Clips Haircuts of James Island

1 rating

I'm pretty sure that we were purposefully charged for a higher service than we requested/received. My 2 sons and I got haircuts only (should have been 'Varsity' $25adult/$15kid cuts). At first, the tab showed $90 total ($30 each). I asked if that was correct, and they took the 2 kids prices down to $20 each. I asked why the 'MVP' pricing - we didn't request/get towels, shampoo's or anything (other than a cut). Got back sort of a mumbled non-answer, so just paid and left. Looking at the site now, we definitely requested/received the 'Varsity' cuts. Could chalk it up to a mistake if I hadn't specifically asked why we were being charged the higher amount for 'MVP'. So - whole thing should have been $55. We were initially charged $90, but after initial pushback (changing 2 adult prices to kid prices), down to $70 which we paid (plus 30% tip ($21) on top of the $70). Be careful! It appears very likely that they're charging for extras without consent or delivering extra services. $15 total extra, so whatever - but knowing we were taken is the reason I'm writing this review. Mistakes happen, but this doesn't feel like a mistake - feels like we were scammed. Also, their survey system errors when SC-209 is entered as a store #.

1 rating

Doesn’t even deserve a star. can’t cut hair even, can’t trim. I paid for my boyfriend to get his hair cut after growing it out and he came back with a mushroom head after asking for a FADE. Waste of money.

Reply from Sport Clips Haircuts of James Island:
Hey Brice, thank you for letting us know about your boyfriend's visit with us. We're sorry to hear he did not have a great experience with us and appreciate your feedback.

1 rating

Rip off! MVP prices only but no MVP service! Unlike other sport clips, the store charges only for MVP haircuts for $25. My stylist (Christina) didn’t even offer me option of a shampoo or anything else, then charged me $25 for an MVP Fil-service haircut. She said the store only charges for MVP haircuts, yet didn’t even think to apologize for ripping me off and not providing the services that I have to pay for. She said the owner “Todd“ runs the store this way and that I should complain about it, so here I am! She also gave me a receipt with a survey link, but how about this...they don’t put the mysterious five digit store code on the receipt so you can’t actually complete the survey with sport clips corporate. Avoid the store and do not endorse such a shady business practices.

Reply from Sport Clips Haircuts of James Island:
Hey Adam, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit with us. We do our best to give every client who walks through our door a great experience and we're sorry to hear yours was not. Again, thank you for your feedback, it will be immensely helpful.

Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 based on 4 Client reviews

1
Ryan M. | January 21, 2022 Haircut

"I'm pretty sure that we were purposefully charged for a higher service than we requested/received. "

1
Brice H. | May 17, 2021 Haircut

"Doesn’t even deserve a star. can’t cut hair even, can’t trim. I paid for my boyfriend to get his hai"

1
Adam K. | October 11, 2019 Haircut

"Rip off! MVP prices only but no MVP service! Unlike other sport clips, the store charges only fo"

5
Kara H. | September 10, 2019 Haircut

"I am a mom of a 5 year old with moderate autism. My son has good days, and he has not so good days."